Accession, acquisition and budgeting out of context

Module 3 in ETL503 is all about acquisition, accession and budgeting. While it was somewhat interesting to go through the readings and suggestions and note the types of thinking and planning that will be necessary as a TL, it is incredibly difficult to apply out of context. The practical application questions frequently referenced “your school” and “your collection”. As a student who is currently NOT working as a TL, just aspiring to the role in the future, I found this quite difficult. I am thankful that the final assessment is situated in a shared external context – annotating an existing policy for a school. I think it would be beneficial for students in my position if some of the exercises gave a case-study type exercise. These could always have an either/or option for applying within your own context if you are currently employed as a TL.

For the moment, I am mainly filing the information away in my brain (and saving the module pdfs to my computer) for future reference when I have a context in which to apply it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top
Skip to toolbar