How quickly I forget – blog it to keep it!

As I was reading through some of the blog posts that my classmates have written for the first assessment task in INF533, I was reminded of interesting and relevant tidbits from the readings over the past fortnight. It is eye-opening to me how much I am forgetting, even though I am trying to read critically and take notes. Since one of the uses of a reflective blog is to work through ideas and hopefully cement them more in my mind, I will try to heed the advice (Croft, 2018, 35:47-36:57) of trying to increase the frequency of my blogging with shorter, sharper reflections to note things I may want to remember.

To that end, one of the things I was reminded of when reading the blogs was Annette Lamb’s (2011) redefining of the terms “reading” and “book”. Here they are to remind me:

Reading is the process of constructing meaning from symbols. A book is a published collection of related pages or screens.

 

(Lamb, 2011, p. 13)

I have some issues with various claims that we need a brand new definition of literacy, completely revolutionised for the information age – it often seems like an oversell to me. This gentle but powerful reconceptualisation of some of the underlying terms for literacy – reading and books – that seeks to incorporate both the new digital practice and the traditional print medium really resonates with me.

References

Croft, T. (2018). INF533: Online Meeting 1 [Adobe Connect recording]. Retrieved from https://connect.csu.edu.au/p1cs2owlygrw/?launcher=false&fcsContent=true&pbMode=normal.

Lamb, A. (2011). Reading redefined for a transmedia universe. Learning and Leading with Technology, 39(3), 12-17. Retrieved from http://www.learningandleading-digital.com/learningandleading.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top
Skip to toolbar