Conflict Handling Style Analysis

At the end of Module 3.2, we were asked to do a questionnaire (McGraw Hill Global Education Holdings, 2018) to determine our preferred conflict handling style(s) and reflect on the results.

  • According to the model, my preferences for conflict handling followed the following pattern:
    • Minimally strong preference (the bottom score on the “strong preference” range) for:
      • Avoiding: 13/20, and
      • Problem Solving: 17/20
    • Moderately strong preferences (one mark below the top of the “moderate preference” range) for the conflicting styles of:
      • Yielding: 12/20, and
      • Forcing: 13/20
    • Moderately low preference (the bottom of the “moderate preference” range) for:
      • Compromising: 11/20

This would seem to indicate that I avoid conflict where possible. When I do engage in a conflict situation, however, my goal is to optimise solutions (aim for a win/win where possible) rather than to achieve a 50/50 compromise. I find the similar scores for the opposing styles of yielding and forcing an interesting outcome. I suppose it indicates that I use a situational approach where I yield or stand up for my position as seems most appropriate for solving the problem in an optimal fashion.

  • Does this match to how you think of yourself?

When I interpret the results as discussed above, I can see myself in the description. If possible, I prefer to avoid confrontation. I endeavour not to lie or mis-represent my position and to stand for my viewpoint with integrity but also make an effort to do so as diplomatically as possible. I definitely see myself as someone who goes into a conflict wanting to understand all sides and bring about a resolution that everyone is happy with, rather than merely a compromise which has demanded equal concessions by each party but left no-one truly satisfied.

  • What areas do you think you need to develop?

While I am equally likely to sit back in a yielding or avoiding style as to confidently promote my opinion in a forcing style, I am not always 100% sure that I choose the right moment to implement them. I could certainly learn to pick my tactics more carefully. Another area for improvement would be reducing my tendency to avoid conflict so that I can deal with conflicts when they are minor rather than waiting until they cannot be ignored.

References

McGraw-Hill Global Education Holdings. (2018). Self-Assessment 11.4: What is your preferred conflict handling style?   Retrieved from http://highered.mheducation.com/sites/007040187x/student_view0/chapter11/self-assessment_11_4.html 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top
Skip to toolbar